Myelomeningocele Out of the dark into the light

Chapter One: About Myelomeningocele

My mother and father was told that I would not make it from  Macintosh county to Augusta Georgia, let alone a year, it was then  my father made the decision to take me with an older nurse. Even though the odds were against me, they were also told them that I wouldn’t live to see a year; the doctors are still amazed that I am still here as my mother would say by the grace of God I am still here. You see I was born with Myelomeningocele better known as Spine Bifida, (which can affect as many as 2 out of every 1,000 infants.) This normally happens, during the first month of the pregnancy, this is also where the two sides of the baby’s spine (or backbone) that does not join together to cover the spinal cord, spinal nerves and meninges ( which means the tissues is covering the spinal cord). I was born on March 7 1976, which back in those countries days doctors didn’t know much about the disability that we know we have come a long ways. They thought I wouldn’t see a year old and they kept and years until they said well just enjoy the time you have to their surprise I am still here forty years later

One thought on “Myelomeningocele Out of the dark into the light

Leave a Reply

